Wi-Fi

下一代Nordic解决方案

简体 Eng

为什么选择Wi-Fi?

Wi-Fi是我们的客户要求的“头号”功能。

作为低功耗蓝牙的市场领导者和蜂窝物联网的新兴领导者,这两者之间长期存在空白,而我们的客户一直要求我们填补这一空白。Wi-Fi一直是我们客户所要求的“头号”无线技术。不久,我们将提供兼具易用性和高质量的超低功耗Wi-Fi器件,而这正是我们客户所期待的。

Wi-Fi开发团队

当一个完美的机会降临,将一个世界级的Wi-Fi开发团队并入我们的全球组织架构中时,我们必须抓住它。我们收购了Imagination Technologies Group的Wi-Fi开发团队、核心Wi-Fi专业技术和Wi-Fi IP技术资产。这个Wi-Fi团队提供成熟的Wi-Fi解决方案。这意味着我们将成为少数几家能够同时提供世界上最流行的三种无线物联网技术的公司之一:蓝牙、Wi-Fi和蜂窝物联网(LTE-M和NB-IoT版本)。

Wi-Fi的低功耗潜力

我们对Nordic Semiconductor的低功耗无线技术积累与当下采用电池供电的物联网设备Wi-Fi的低功耗发展之间的潜在协同效应感到兴奋。我们希望利用我们数十年的超低功耗无线专业技术,最大限度的挖掘出Wi-Fi在传感器网络、智能音箱、安全摄像头、家用电器、机器人吸尘器等应用中的低功耗潜力。

 

收购Imagination Technologies Group的部分业务

包括整个Wi-Fi开发团队、核心Wi-Fi技术和Wi-Fi IP技术资产

 

关于收购的新闻

CTO Svein-Egil Nielsen形容: “这对于Nordic及其客户来说都是一次梦想成真。作为短距离蓝牙无线技术的全球领导者和远程蜂窝无线物联网的新兴领导者。我们的客户一直要求我们填补这两者之间的空白。尽管这无法一蹴而就 [...],但我们现在可以将Wi-Fi功能添加到未来的Nordic产品中。在Nordic,我们感到无比的幸运和兴奋,因为我们找到了完美的Wi-Fi团队,他们拥有数十年行业顶级经验和专业知识,我们可以从他们那里了解所有Wi-Fi无线技术。”


首席执行官Svenn- Tore Larsen表示:“我很高兴Wi-Fi团队在此次收购后为Nordic公司的无线物联网拓展到了更大距离。”

阅读关于此次收购的新闻稿全文。

 

Watch the Interview on Nordic's new Wi-Fi Team

Why Nordic is expanding into Wi-Fi

Wi-Fi和Matter

Matter是什么?

Matter是一个针对家庭互联设备的统一应用层标准,它旨在让开发人员能够轻松打造一个安全可靠的解决方案。如果您需要您的产品与主要的智能家居生态系统彼此协作,Matter就是一个方向。这些解决方案将与苹果的Siri、谷歌的Assistant和亚马逊的Alexa等助手集成在一起。

Wi-Fi在Matter中的作用

无线Matter设备将使用Thread或Wi-Fi进行传输,并使用低功耗蓝牙进行入网。这些设备需要同时运行低功耗蓝牙才能向网络中添加新设备。虽然Thread是低功耗Matter设备最有效解决方案,但智能音箱等高数据吞吐量的应用需要Wi-Fi。Nordic积极参与并对Matter做出了巨大贡献。我们也是OpenThread协议栈的主要贡献者。这一点,再加上我们在低功耗蓝牙、Thread和最近的Wi-Fi方面的知识和经验,使我们成为您着手开发应用的理想合作伙伴。

 

diagram

nRF Connect SDK

我们所有无线技术的统一开发平台

nRF Connect SDK

熟悉的开发

虽然我们还没有在本页上提到具体的产品,但我们可以坦然地说,我们正在将Wi-Fi整合到一个统一我们所有无线技术的生态系统中。我们的客户将收获更多他们已经从Nordic期待到的优点和易用性。

RTOS和SDK

Nordic的nRF Connect SDK是我们统一的软件开发工具包,用于基于我们的无线产品开发各种应用。它是一个经过专门优化的软件,可用于具有高精尖设备复杂软件但又内存有限的设备。它集成了Zephyr RTOS和各种不同的样例、应用协议、协议栈、库和硬件驱动。

软件和固件

nRF Connect SDK拥有开发最好的低功耗蓝牙、Thread、Zigbee和即将上市的Wi-Fi产品所需的所有软件和固件。nRF Connect SDK为我们所有的无线设备和软件组件提供了一个代码库。它简化了将模块、库和驱动从一个应用移植到另一个应用的时间,从而大大缩短了开发周期。我们让开发人员能够为他们的应用选择必要的软件组件。

 

为什么Wi-Fi 6赋能了物联网

功率限制

对于需要比短距离、低功耗协议拥有更大传输距离无线网络,Wi-Fi似乎是完美的选择,但不是像广域网技术那样大的距离。仔细观察发现,Wi-Fi在物联网应用中存在一些相当大的缺陷。第一个挑战是能耗。Wi-Fi为高数据吞吐量而设计,很少考虑功耗。相比之下,物联网无线技术通常试图限制开机时间来延长电池寿命,从而最大程度的减少维护需求。

干扰

其次,Wi-Fi在繁忙的商场和图书馆等密集部署场景中举步维艰。对于由数百个传感器组成的工业网络来说,可靠性非常重要。

正交频分多址

Wi-Fi 6 (IEEE 802.11ax)解决了阻碍这一技术在物联网中广泛采用所面临的缺陷。Wi-Fi 6于2021年初获得Wi-Fi联盟的批准,旨在满足公共和工业密集部署的要求。新的正交频分多址(OFDMA)允许设备使用少于一个信道的带宽,与网络上的其他设备共享带宽,也使连接设备的响应速度更快。以前版本的Wi-Fi只能应付为数不多的传感器,而Wi-Fi 6可以轻松地管理由数百个设备组成的大型传感器网络。

目标唤醒时间

Wi-Fi 6还为智能家居和工业应用带来了重大技术改进。目标唤醒时间(TWT)是对前几代Wi-Fi节能举措的另一项技术改进。当使用TWT时,客户端设备与接入点协商唤醒时间。因此,客户端不需要保持唤醒来保持无线连接。这样的优势就在于更高效、无竞争的信道访问,以及高达80%的客户端设备省电效果。

Wi-Fi

The next generation Nordic solution

Eng 简体

Why Wi-Fi?

Wi-Fi was the “number one” requested capability by our customers

As the market leader in Bluetooth Low Energy and the emerging leader in cellular IoT, there has long been a gap in between, which our customers have been asking us to fill. With the nRF70 Series of Wi-Fi companion ICs we deliver ultra-low power Wi-Fi devices with the ease of use and high quality our customers have come to expect from us.

 

Nordic’s Wi-Fi development team

When the perfect opportunity to merge a world-class Wi-Fi development team into our global organization came, we had to take it. We acquired the Wi-Fi development team, core Wi-Fi expertise, and Wi-Fi IP tech assets of Imagination Technologies Group. This Wi-Fi team comes with a proven track record of delivering state-of-the-art Wi-Fi solutions meaning we will be one of the few companies to offer all three of the world’s most popular wireless IoT technologies: Bluetooth, Wi-Fi, and cellular IoT (both LTE-M and NB-IoT versions).

 

Wi-Fi’s low-power potential

We are excited about the potential synergy between Nordic Semiconductor’s low-power wireless heritage and the latest low power evolution of Wi-Fi that now enables battery-powered IoT devices. We are useing our decades of wireless ultra-low-power expertise and maximize Wi-Fi’s low-power potential in applications such as sensor networks, smart speakers, security cameras, home appliances, robot vacuums, and more.

Introducing the nRF7002

Wi-Fi 6 companion IC

picture of the nRF7002 DK with link to the news storyIn August 2022 we announced our entrance into the Wi-Fi wireless IoT market with the introduction of our eagerly-awaited nRF7002 Wi-Fi 6 IC. 

The nRF7002 is a ’companion IC’ which means it is designed to provide seamless Wi-Fi connectivity and Wi-Fi-based locationing (SSID sniffing of local Wi-Fi hubs) when used alongside Nordic’s existing products. These include the nRF52® and nRF53® Series Bluetooth Systems-on-Chip (SoCs), and Nordic’s nRF91® Series cellular IoT Systems-in-Package (SiPs). The nRF7002 can also be used in conjunction with non-Nordic host devices.

“This is a dream come true for Nordic and its customers.” said CTO, Svein-Egil Nielsen, “We were able to bring our first Wi-Fi chip to market very quickly as a result of acquiring an extremely capable Wi-Fi team alongside a portfolio of Wi-Fi assets that team had already developed.” 

Read the full news release about the nRF7002 

Nordic's first Wi-Fi product

nRF7002 Wi-Fi Companion IC

nRF7002 - Low-power, advanced security, seamless coexistence

2.4GHz and 5GHz Dual-band

Low-power and Secure Wi-Fi for the IoT

Ideal coexistence with Bluetooth LE

Supported in nRF Connect SDK

Wi-Fi 6 Station (STA)

Complies with 802.11a/b/g/n/ac/ax

1 Spatial Stream (SS)

20 MHz channel bandwidth

64 QAM (MCS7), 86 Mbps PHY throughput

OFDMA (Downlink and Uplink)

BSS Coloring

TWT

SPI / QSPI

Co-existence interfaces

Watch the Interview on Nordic's new Wi-Fi Team

Why Nordic is expanding into Wi-Fi

Wi-Fi and Matter

What is Matter?

Matter, the unified application layer standard for connected things at home, aims to make it easy for developers to create a secure and reliable solution. If you need your products to be interoperable with the major smart home ecosystems, Matter is the way to go. These solutions will be integrated with assistants like Apple’s Siri, Google’s Assistant, and Amazon’s Alexa.

Wi-Fi's role in Matter

Wireless Matter devices will use Thread or Wi-Fi for transport and Bluetooth LE for commissioning. These devices need to run Bluetooth LE concurrently to enable adding new devices to a network. While Thread is the most efficient solution for low-power Matter devices, high-throughput applications like smart speakers will require Wi-Fi. Nordic is actively involved and heavily contributing to Matter. We are also a main contributor to the OpenThread stack. This, combined with our knowledge and experience in Bluetooth Low Energy, Thread, and more recently Wi-Fi makes us the ideal partner to start developing your applications.

diagram

nRF Connect SDK

Unified development platform for all our wireless technologies

nRF Connect SDK

Familiar development

While we are not mentioning the specific products on this page yet, we can safely say, we work on integrating Wi-Fi into an ecosystem that unifies all our wireless technologies. Our customers will receive the benefits and ease of use, that they have come to expect from Nordic.

RTOS and SDK

Nordic's nRF Connect SDK is our unified software development kit for building applications based on our wireless products. It is a size-optimized software for memory-constrained devices with powerful and complex software for advanced devices and applications. It integrates the Zephyr RTOS and a wide range of samples, application protocols, protocol stacks, libraries, and hardware drivers.

Software and Firmware

The nRF Connect SDK includes all the software and firmware needed to develop the best Bluetooth Low Energy, Thread, Zigbee, and soon Wi-Fi Products. nRF Connect SDK offers a single code base for all our wireless devices and software components. It simplifies porting modules, libraries, and drivers from one application to another, thereby lowering development time. We enable developers to pick and choose the essential software components for their applications.

Why Wi-Fi 6 enables IoT

Power limitations

Wi-Fi appears to be the perfect option for wireless networks needing greater range than short-range, low-power protocols, but not the huge of range of the WAN technologies. Closer inspection reveals Wi-Fi has some considerable drawbacks for IoT applications. The first challenge is power consumption. Wi-Fi was designed for high throughput with little regard for power consumption. In contrast, IoT wireless technologies typically try to limit on-air time to extend battery life and hence minimize maintenance.

Interference

Second, Wi-Fi struggles in dense deployment scenarios like busy malls and libraries. For Industrial networks comprising hundreds of sensors, reliability is important.

Orthogonal frequency-division, multiple-access

Wi-Fi 6 (IEEE 802.11ax), addresses the shortcomings that have hampered the technology’s widespread adoption for the IoT. Approved by the Wi-Fi Alliance in early 2021, Wi-Fi 6 was designed to meet the requirements of dense deployments, both public and industrial. The new orthogonal frequency-division, multiple-access (OFDMA) feature allows devices to use less than one channel bandwidth, sharing the bandwidth with other devices on the network, also enabling faster response to and from connected units. Where previous versions of Wi-Fi struggled to cope with more than a few sensors, Wi-Fi 6 can comfortably manage large sensor networks comprising hundreds of devices.

Target wake time

Wi-Fi 6 also brings a key technical enhancement for smart-home and -industry applications. Target wake time (TWT) is another technical enhancement to power-saving efforts of prior generations of Wi-Fi. When using TWT, client devices negotiate wake-up times with access points (APs). Therefore, the clients don't need to stay awake to maintain the wireless connection. The benefits are more efficient, contention-free channel access, and significant client-device power savings up to 80%.